Dating a Medical School Student Part 1

This topic will become a series on this blog, notice the part one.

For the longest time I’ve debated with myself whether or not I wanted to blog about this topic since it’s a more personal subject, but since I’m lacking in content what the heck.  To get the full effect I’ll start with day one and work my way to present day.

Part 1: Acceptance and Moving Day
My boyfriend (MedStudent is what he’ll be referred to from now on) and I have been dating for over five years. For a majority of those years he’s been trying to get into medical school. The journey of filling out applications and writing essays was a long one and on July 15th all of the hard work was reward with acceptance into medical school.  I can vividly remember the day. I had gotten back from lunch and was working on a project when my cell phone rang.  When the words I was accepted into medical school in Pennsylvania and have to be there by July 24th were spoken I was overcome with emotion.  I was thrilled he was accepted because it was something he always wanted and it had been a long journey, but I also started to cry.  The crying came out of no where and I really couldn’t control it. My emotions even surprised me because I rarely cry. I was so overwhelmed with the news that I left work early and went to a friend’s house so I could process everything. After a good chat with my friend I felt better and was ready to embrace the changes ahead.

Looking back on it the days in between the 15th and the 21st (moving day) were probably some of the most grown up days I’ve had in my 26 years of living.  For three of those days the MedStudent was out-of-town on a prearranged trip.  At the time I wasn’t a big fan of him being out-of-town right before he left, but it ended up being OK since those days gave me time to process what was happening and really think about my own future.  After he returned he of course had a ton of things to take care of and there was the ultimate subject of US. That’s right the dreaded subject anyone in a relationship hates to talk about – THE FUTURE.  Questions like – Do I quit my job and move? Will a long distance relationship work? When we will have time to chat between me working and him studying? Are just a few of a the questions that ran through my mind before we worked in the chat. As a result of the conversation it was decided that I would remain where I’m at and we would be sure to see each other once a month.  After we had discussed a few things I felt better about the road ahead.  When moving day arrived on the 21st saying good-bye was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do, and as I  watched his car drive away I took a deep breath and realized it wasn’t good-bye forever and I was eager for a new challenge.

To be continued…..

3 thoughts on “Dating a Medical School Student Part 1

    • I have a reader!! I’m glad you enjoyed it, you even made an appearance in this post. 🙂 I thought it might be a good idea to post about my real life situations. Maybe someone will Google dating a medical school student, like I did early on, and they’ll find this series helpful.

  1. What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger, they say. Glad you didn’t move. It seems just like you to think of helping others while you are blogging. See you at work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

