New Year’s Resolution: Quit The Gym

At a time when most people are joining gyms I recently decided it was time to quit my gym.  A number of reasons contributed to my final decision with the main reason being needing to save money.  Flying to Pittsburgh regularly to see my boyfriend isn’t cheap, so it’s time to save a few more pennies.

Now, just because I quit a gym I belonged to for almost three years doesn’t mean I’m going to stop working out.  It really means I’m going to be more resourceful with my workouts.  I was given a Wii Fit for Christmas and after two nights of hour-long workouts it’s actually challenging at times.  People always tell you that you should have a support system when you work out.  Well my entire family has Miis on my Wii, so whether I’m doing a basic run or step aerobics there are my family’s Miis cheering me on or doing the step aerobics with me.  Even though the trainer on the Fit can be insulting at times I plan to use that as a motivator to improve my yoga skills.  Also, part two of my resourceful workouts include the gym on my apartment complex. The gym has pretty much everything you need to get a solid workout in, so between the apartment gym and my Fit I shouldn’t have any excuses.  So far things have been good with my workout routines, and I’m hoping I’ll be able to keep at it, so I don’t return to the couch.  My current motivation is to not be insulted by that stupid cartoon balance board on the Fit.

I’m curious if anyone out there has a resourceful workout routine because I would be very interested in learning ways I can workout by not having to go to the gym.

One thought on “New Year’s Resolution: Quit The Gym

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention New Year’s Resolution: Quit The Gym « The Wandering Duck Climbs a Mountain -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

